My thoughts on GP in #GP150w

As I log off, I look around my cluttered desk and consider what sort of a day I have had. In between the piles of prescriptions and medical certificates, the answer lies in the form of coffee stained crockery.

I started the day with all the optimism and cheer of “Christmas Reindeer”, but as the triage phone call list lengthened and appointments became more scarce, “I’ve been to Dubai”, the largest drinking receptacle available, came into its own.

With no time for coffee room chat over lunch owing to a home visit to a recently widowed patient, I began afternoon surgery thirsty. Not only for fluids, but for conversation with my colleagues.

Keeping up with the next two hours of clinical conundrums and patient expectations was made hugely easier by the kindness of my colleague bringing my afternoon brew, especially when it was wrapped in star spangled mug labelled “SuperDoc”.

Leave a Reply

